
Luxury Montreal Getaway: Best Western Plus East End Charm!
Luxury Montreal Getaway: Best Western Plus East End Charm! - A Messy, Honest Review
Okay, buckle up buttercups, because this isn't your typical sanitized hotel review. We're diving headfirst into my Montreal adventure at the Best Western Plus East End Charm, and let me tell you, it was… an experience. Not all roses, not all thorns, but definitely memorable.
Metadata & SEO (Because, you know, gotta play the game):
- Keywords: Montreal hotel, Best Western Plus, East End, Charm, Accessibility, Wheelchair accessible, Spa, Pool, Free Wi-Fi, Restaurant, Cleanliness, Safety, Family-friendly, Business travel, Quebec, Reviews.
- Meta Description: A brutally honest and incredibly detailed review of the Best Western Plus East End Charm in Montreal. From the (sometimes) questionable charm to the (mostly) decent spa, find out if this hotel is worth your precious vacation time, complete with messy anecdotes and unfiltered opinions!
Let's Get Real: Accessibility & Getting In
My biggest initial worry? Accessibility. I'm always on the lookout for a hotel that's truly Wheelchair accessible. The website said it, but you never know. I'm pleased to report that the elevator made getting to the rooms a breeze. The facilities for disabled guests were actually well-considered, which is a HUGE win. The Exterior corridor setup was standard but not a problem, but the doors… well, let's just say I had a few moments where my chair wrestled with the closing mechanisms. A small detail, but it could be improved.
Rambling Interlude: My Arrival and the Quest for Coffee
Arrival was… well, a bit of a slow-motion comedy routine. Contactless check-in/out sounds slick, right? Not when your phone decides to act up. The friendly, if slightly frazzled, staff at the Front desk [24-hour] saved the day. They were saints, honestly. And the Coffee shop? Oh, the coffee shop. The promise of a strong brew after a long train ride… bliss. It was decent, though, not life-altering. I swear, that first sip should be a life-altering experience.
Cleanliness & Safety - The "Is This Actually Safe?" Check
Okay, let's get it out of the way: with the ongoing pandemic, cleanliness is everything. And the Best Western Plus seemed to take it seriously. The Anti-viral cleaning products? Check. Daily disinfection in common areas? Seemed like it. They even had Hand sanitizer stations everywhere. The presence of Staff trained in safety protocol gave me a sense of relief. The Rooms sanitized between stays was a big relief. I wasn't paranoid, but, you know, I wanted to feel safe.
The Room sanitization opt-out available was a nice touch, and I appreciate the flexibility. The Safe dining setup in the restaurant further illustrated their commitment to safety. Good work on this front, Best Western!
My Room: A Battle of Blackout Curtains and Questionable Art
My room was…fine. Let's go through it with the Available in all rooms features. The Air conditioning was a lifesaver against the summer heat. Free Wi-Fi? Thank goodness. The extra long bed was awesome. The Blackout curtains were actually AMAZING. Seriously, those things are a must for a light sleeper like me.
I did have some issues. The Mirror was in a weird spot. The Room decorations were… well, let's call them "eclectic." Let's use the word "eccentric." The lighting was… dim. The soundproofing could have been better. And the art… oh, the art. I couldn't work out if it was supposed to be a still life or an abstract representation of existential dread. I think I laughed out loud.
The Ups: Spa, Sauna, and Swimming (Oh My!)
Okay, the real highlight? The Spa. I'm a sucker for a good spa. The Sauna was hot and steamy in the best way. The Swimming pool [outdoor] was lovely. I could have stayed in that Pool with view all day long. Pure, unadulterated relaxation! The Foot bath was pure bliss. Although I did not experience the Body scrub or the Body wrap.
The Gym/fitness was available, though I didn't get around to it. I did manage to sneak in a Massage, and it was heavenly. I desperately needed it.
Dining: A Mixed Bag of Buffets and Hidden Gems
The Breakfast [buffet] was… a buffet. Standard fare. The International cuisine in restaurant and Western cuisine in restaurant aspects were both decent. There was a Poolside bar, which was great for grabbing a quick drink. I didn't sample the Asian cuisine in restaurant, and I'm not that keen on buffets. I ate a Salad in restaurant one day, which was quite fresh, though. I did sample some of the Desserts in restaurant, which were not extraordinary but acceptable. I am fond of the Coffee/tea in restaurant. The Snack bar was a bonus. The Room service [24-hour] was a blessing after a long day of exploring.
Things to Do & Other Stuff
Things to do: Montreal is amazing. No complaints there! The Meeting/banquet facilities were available. The hotel had Business facilities, including a Xerox/fax in business center. I saw a Meeting stationery available. They do have Audio-visual equipment for special events. I did not use the Air conditioning in public area. I didn't notice the Convenience store or the Gift/souvenir shop.
For the Kids: I Can't Say
I didn't have any kids in tow, so I can't comment on the Babysitting service, Family/child friendly, or Kids meal.
The Verdict: Worth a Stay? Maybe!
Would I recommend the Best Western Plus East End Charm? It depends on your priorities. If you're looking for a perfectly polished, flawless hotel experience, maybe not. If you're looking for a comfortable, clean, accessible base camp to explore Montreal, with a decent spa and friendly staff, then yes. It's got character – and some quirks. I'd go back! But maybe I'd bring my own art. ;)
Marriott Boston Quincy: Unbeatable Quincy, MA Hotel Deals!
Okay, buckle up buttercup, because this isn't your grandma's travel itinerary. This is a Montreal rumble with my own chaotic, caffeine-fueled spin. We're talking Best Western Plus Montreal East, so let's be honest, the expectations are…well, they're not the Ritz. But hey, it's a place to rest, right? Right?!
Day 1: Arrival and the Existential Crisis of the Free Breakfast
- Arrival at YUL (Montreal Trudeau Airport) - 10:00 AM: Okay, first hiccup. My flight was delayed. Classic. Already muttering about the gods of air travel. Found a vending machine and a bag of stale chips. I will survive.
- Taxi to Best Western Plus Montreal East - 11:30 AM: The taxi driver was… well, he was Montreal. That’s a good thing. He kept throwing his hands up as we drove through traffic. He spoke in French and English, a blur of rapid-fire sentences I only understood half of. He did, however, point me in the direction of the best bagels ever. Important intel.
- Check-in & Room Reconnaissance - 12:30 PM: The lobby… it smelled like… clean. Okay, good start. The room? Functional. Two beds. TV showing some French-Canadian news. And the view? Let's just say it's not postcard-worthy. I swear, my room is facing a parking lot. But at least I have Wi-Fi. Internet: My only friend on the road.
- Lunch - 1:30 PM: Found a little diner nearby, a greasy spoon kind of place. Had poutine…because, Montreal. It was… okay. I’ve had better, I've had worse. The waitress, bless her heart, asked if I wanted "un petit peu de mayo" with it. I nodded, not understanding, and then promptly drowned my fries in the stuff. No regrets.
- Rest and the Dreaded Free Breakfast Contemplation - 3:00 PM: This is where things get REAL. A big question. Should I. Should I partake? The free breakfast. The promised land of lukewarm eggs and suspicious coffee. I was tempted. But I'm a creature of habit. And my habit involves a good café in the morning. The breakfast, the breakfast, the breakfast…it lingers.
- Evening: Dinner in Montreal, and a Moment of Existential Dread - 7:00 PM: Took the metro downtown. It was… hot. And crowded. But I made it. Found a little Bistro. Tried to understand the menu, using all the french I could. I realized I was utterly alone. It hit me. I'm travelling alone. A bit of existential dread bubbled up. But, I did enjoy my meal. Ordered the french onion soup. Ate it slowly, looking out the window, feeling like I was the star of my own slightly melancholic movie. Then, back to the hotel. Reading in bed.
Day 2: Bagel Bliss, Art Fiascos, and a Misadventure in Translation
- Morning - The Bagel Run! - 8:00 AM: Remember the taxi driver? He knew what he was talking about. I found that bagel shop he mentioned. St-Viateur Bagel. One bite and I was converted. I ordered a dozen. My soul is now a bagel.
- Montreal Museum of Fine Arts - 10:00 AM: Okay, attempting culture. But museums and me… it's hit or miss. Spent way too long in front of one painting. Just staring. Wondering what the artist was thinking. I'm pretty sure he wasn't thinking about me, though. I didn't relate as much as I thought I would.
- Lunch - 1:00 PM: Found a tiny café near the museum, trying to use my rusty French. Ordered a sandwich. The woman behind the counter squinted at me. Turns out, I requested a "gros chat" (big cat) instead of a "sandwich". The mix-up was hilarious. I walked out with a sandwich. And a story. And a "chat".
- Afternoon - Old Montreal Exploration, and the Great Ice Cream Debacle - 3:00 PM: Strolled through Old Montreal, pretending to be a sophisticated traveller. The buildings were beautiful. Then… ice cream. I saw a lovely gelato place. Ordered two scoops and a cone. Dropped it. Right onto the cobblestones. My whole face. It was a spectacular, public, and delicious disaster. Sigh.
- Evening - Montreal's Nightlife??? - 8:00 PM: The idea was to go to a live music (jazz). Ended up giving up on it. Walked back to the hotel. My body was tired. My spirit was not.
- Night - Hotel Room Ramblings - 10:00 PM: I ordered a pizza and watched some cheesy TV. Thought about my life. Thought about the free breakfast again. My brain just would not let it go.
Day 3: Reflections and Departure
- Final Breakfast Battle - 8:00 AM: Okay, I did it. I faced the free breakfast. And… it wasn't as bad as I imagined! There were even some mini muffins. Fuel for the day.
- Last-Minute Souvenir Panic - 9:00 AM: Panic sets in. I need to buy something. A Montreal-themed T-shirt. Maple syrup. A miniature hockey stick. Found a trinket store. Overpaid for everything. But at least I have something to remember.
- Check-Out - 10:00 AM: The hotel. The parking lot. The quiet. It's time.
- Taxi to Airport - 11:00 AM: Back to the chaos. This time, there was a silent taxi driver. I was glad for it.
- Departure - 1:00 PM: Said goodbye to Montreal. I didn't see everything. I didn't do everything. But I lived it. And you can't ask for more than that.
- Delayed Flight again - 2:00 PM: Delayed. Again. God give me strength.
Emotional Reactions & Quirky Observations:
- The Free Breakfast: Oh, the anticipation! The fear! The eventual acceptance. It was practically a character arc.
- Bagels: My new religion.
- Ice Cream Incident: Still grieving.
- Montrealers: Amazing people. I love the bilingual bickering. Everyone's too nice.
- Overall: It was a mess. It was beautiful. It was… Montreal. And that’s enough to make me smile.

Luxury Montreal Getaway: Best Western Plus East End Charm! - The Real Deal (FAQ, Kinda)
Okay, so "Luxury" and "Best Western" in the *same* sentence? What's the actual vibe here? Don't sugarcoat it.
Alright, alright. Let's be real. "Luxury" is doing some heavy lifting here. Think *upscale Best Western* rather than, say, the Ritz-Carlton. The "East End Charm" part? Spot on. You're in a slightly gritty, but totally authentic, Montreal neighborhood. Think cobblestone streets, maybe a whiff of poutine wafting from a nearby eatery (heavenly whiff, mind you). "Luxury" means clean rooms, comfy beds (I slept like a log! Seriously, I was out COLD), and probably a slightly fancier breakfast than you're used to at a regular Best Western. Okay, maybe not *fancier*, but decent. The front desk staff? Super friendly. They're good people, those folks. And... parking? Um.... let's just say learn those parallel parking skills, because it's a Montreal rite of passage, and you'll need them.
The breakfast. Tell me everything. Because breakfast is *important*.
Breakfast! Okay, this is where it gets…interesting. They had scrambled eggs, which were...well, eggs. Not the fluffy, melt-in-your-mouth kinda eggs you dream about. More like the "functional" kind. The bacon? Crispy! A definite win. Pastries were… there. Don't expect artisanal croissants flown in from Paris, you know? Think of it as fuel. Fuel for your Montreal adventures! And the coffee… blessedly, it was plentiful. I needed a LOT of coffee. Also, there's this machine that dispenses waffles! Which are pretty much the highlight of the whole breakfast situation. I may have eaten, like, three. Judge me. I dare you.
Location, location, location! Is it actually a good spot to explore Montreal? Or are you stuck in the suburbs?
The location? Honestly? Pretty darn good, with caveats. You're not right *downtown*, but it felt… more real. Less touristy. We walked to a bunch of cool little cafes, and a fantastic bakery (OMG the bread!). Public transport's super easy (thanks, Montreal metro!). You’re close to the metro, which is golden. Gotta remember, though, Montreal is a *big* city. Be prepared to walk, take the metro, or taxi/Uber. It's an adventure! Just, be ready for the occasional unexpected street performer or, you know, a squirrel holding a tiny baguette (true story, probably).
Speaking of adventures…any must-do recommendations NEAR the hotel? What did you actually DO? I need the gossip!
Okay, SO. This is where things get interesting, and where MY personal, imperfect, human experience shines. First, *walk to the Plateau Mont-Royal*. It's a bit of a hike, but it's worth it for the colorful houses and the overall *vibe*. Check out the amazing murals on the buildings along the way! And honestly? Get lost! Wandering is key to Montreal. Embrace the chaos! Next, DO NOT miss a poutine experience. Like, a *real* poutine experience made with actual, REAL CHEESE CURDS. There is a place called "La Banquise" open 24/7-- that place is legendary, even though you'll be waiting in a line at 2:00 AM. Do it! And for a different flavor, try the smoked meat sandwiches at Schwartz's Deli… be prepared to wait, but OH MY GOD, the smell! Also, this is crucial: learn a few basic French phrases. “Bonjour,” “Merci,” “Un café, s’il vous plaît.” It goes a long way! The one thing I *regret* doing? Not taking enough pictures of the graffiti. The art scene there is unbelievable!
Rooms - spick and span? Or questionable? What's the tea, spill it!
Rooms were… good. Really! Clean. Comfortable beds. The shower had good water pressure, which is a BIG deal for me. The air conditioning worked, oh sweet, sweet A/C, thank you. No weird smells. I'm a bit of a germaphobe (okay, a lot a bit), and honestly, I didn't feel the need to scrub anything down with disinfectant wipes. Which is a win in my book. One minor issue: the walls, they're *thin*. You might hear the occasional toilet flush or late-night conversation drifting in. Earplugs are your friend. Pack them. Seriously.
The Pool? Gym? Amenities? Or is it just a place to crash?
Okay, so… no pool. No fancy gym. It’s more focused on being a comfortable place to sleep and then launch yourself into Montreal adventures, not a resort. They have a small fitness room, with a treadmill and some…other equipment. I didn't go. I was too busy walking! There is a free breakfast, which we have already broken down and discussed. And the internet? Free. Good, reliable wifi. Very important! Frankly, I prefer exploring the city than spending time in a hotel gym. Am I missing out? Maybe. Did I care? No. Montreal is the amenity, in my opinion.
Overall, would you recommend it? Be Honest. (And tell me about any hidden fees!)
Absolutely. *Yes*. With a few caveats. If you're expecting ultra-luxe, you'll be disappointed. If you want a clean, comfortable, well-located base for exploring Montreal, and you’re not afraid of a little authentic "charm," then it's perfect. Hidden fees? I only remember the regular stuff, like the parking…so, find parking on the street, if you dare--and be prepared to move your car. Or pay a little, which is… acceptable. The staff really are helpful and friendly. They are helpful and want to help you have a good time, and the price is right. Ultimately, it's a solid choice. Would I go back? Yes. I'm already planning my next poutine run!
Anything else I should know? Any last-minute pearls of wisdom?
Okay, final thoughts: Pack comfortable shoes. Seriously. You'll be walking. Bring a reusable water bottle. Hydrate, people! Learn a few French phrases. The locals appreciate the effort. Don’t beRooms And Vibes


Post a Comment for "Luxury Montreal Getaway: Best Western Plus East End Charm!"